Photographic Conceptualizations of Jarrad Henderson

To Be or Not To Be…..

…a commercial photographer. That is the question. I literally got a taste of it this weekend when I took a break from my Master’s project and did some freelance work.  Not Im not sure what the future holds for me, but I certainly hope it has a lot to do with making images. I love photography, and honestly, It doesn’t matter the format; journalistic, food, portraiture, I love it all.  Here are a few images that I took this weekend. A quick and fast edit.  Let me know what you think!!

I did a photo shoot for my friend Kyrie who wanted some pictures taken.  Facing the decision to cut her hair, Kyrie wants to go natural. If she follows through, she would like to give her mom the images before she goes Hallé Berry on em’.

Deirdra and Rob Ashley exchange vows during the wedding and reception at the University of Missouri’s A.P. Green Chapel on November 6, 2010. Check out the galley below! :-)

4 responses

  1. You definitely have the talent for it. At the same time, you are good at many things and young enough where you don’t have to choose right now.

    Commercial photography is a major commitment. And for many people, photography is a luxury. Know that the economy is not favorable to artists right now.

    BUT, if you want to do it, do it. You will be among the best.

    November 7, 2010 at 6:27 pm

  2. Jarrad–

    Do whatever feels right in your heart.

    There’s nothing that says you can’t make photographs in more than one genre. You’re not limited to just being a photojournalist, or just a commercial photographer.

    Hell, I’d highly advise you to pursue commercial. You’ll make money. Journalism doesn’t pay hardly anything. You got bills to pay and groceries to eat.

    I moved to New York and have had one journalism gig. I’ve done several things to make money. I just use my style to make better images. What we learned at Missouri, intimate moments and relationships, makes for the best photographs.
    Use that to create more interesting photos.

    Do whatever makes you happy.

    –Charles

    November 7, 2010 at 6:34 pm

  3. Oh, but find a balance. There’s a certain inner satisfaction that you’ll find in journalism. So don’t completely abandon it.

    November 7, 2010 at 6:36 pm

  4. Lookin’ good man. I definitely agree the format isn’t a huge deal when it comes to photography. I do weddings through out the year and find it pretty helpful with shooting from a photo-j point of view. It’s a great environment to capture moments in constantly changing situations. I forget, were you the main or second shooter?

    November 7, 2010 at 6:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.